A Weekend Trip to NYC!

I have been begging my parents to take me to New York City for the longest time. Now that summer is here, my mom and I were finally able to go. About a week before school ended, we decided to buy tickets to see Anastasia. The rest of the trip was pretty last minute, but my mom and I had the best time! Here’s an overview of what we did.

– Friday –

Friday morning we woke up at 4:30 am and caught an 8:00 am flight to Newark. Waking up early is not my forte, but I’m certainly not complaining. It was a bit of an adventure from the Newark Airport to our hotel, because my mom and I weren’t sure of the best way to get there. A couple Airtrain and Subway rides later, we made it to the World Trade Center, which happened to be right in front of our hotel. The best part of Friday was definitely walking across the Brooklyn Bridge. Wow! I’ll admit though, it was a little crazy. My mom and I were sure we would be hit by a bicycle. Welcome to New York! After taking endless amounts of pictures on the bridge, we finally made it to our next destination, Dumbo. We enjoyed walking around and exploring the cute boutique shops in Dumbo. After all that walking (we walked over 20,000 steps on Friday!) we ate some extremely yummy pizza at Juliana’s Pizza. Finally, we walked back over the bridge and explored the area around our hotel. We ended up going into Anthropologie, one of our favorites, and all I could think was “so pretty, but so expensive!”.

– Saturday –

Saturday was pretty much a dream come true. After getting ready for the day, we walked around in search of something to eat. We ended up getting breakfast at Aroma Cafe, yum! Afterwards we went to the 9/11 Memorial Museum for a few hours and listened to an audio tour on our phones. Even though 9/11 happened even before I was born I could feel the emotion and devastation of that day through the photos, artifacts and videos throughout the museum. Such a moving experience, even for those of us who “learned” about that day through the eyes of our parents. Later on we took a taxi to our next hotel, up near Times Square. After eating dinner at Carmine’s (an Italian Restaurant), we went back to our hotel to get ready for the show. I loved walking around NYC’s Theatre District and seeing all the different ads for current musicals. Finally, it was time to see Anastasia. Despite the bad reviews we read about Broadhurst Theater, my mom and I thought the theater and staff were great, even if a bit crowded. The show was incredible! Anastasia is the second musical I’ve been blessed to see on Broadway and I definitely plan on seeing it again someday. Afterwards, I even got the leads to sign my Playbill! New York City truly is the city that never sleeps. We left the theater a little before midnight, and Times Square was just as alive as ever. My mom and I even decided to stop at Sephora to try on some lip products.

– Sunday –

Once I finally forced myself out of bed, my mom and I walked around Midtown and explored some really high end stores. That morning we skipped breakfast altogether and went straight to the sweets, which we got at Magnolia Bakery. Their banana pudding is definitely worth a try. Next, we walked to Central Park and The Metropolitan Museum of Art. The Met was amazing! We explored a photography and costume exhibit, as well as some modern art. Oh and of course we went to the gift shop. In fact, our cashier recommended we check out the roof top garden and we’re so thankful she did. The Met’s rooftop has one of the best views of NYC’s skyline. On our way back, we decided to walk through the Upper East Side, rather than going though Central Park again. We spent the walk back daydreaming of living in one of the adorable apartments we passed and shopping at the fantastic boutiques. Unfortunately, both dreams are way out of our price range, but we had fun anyways. After a very, very long walk, we finally made it back to our hotel and picked up our luggage. Getting back to the airport was even more of a struggle than it was leaving it on Friday. By the time we made it to the Newark Airport, we were exhausted. Probably not the best idea to walk over 20,000 steps in sandals and converse. That night we took a flight back to Reagan Airport and listened to Anastasia the whole drive home.

Despite getting lost a few times, I absolutely loved our quick trip to New York City. Sometimes I feel like I get “stuck in a rut” at my home in Stafford, Virginia, and there’s something about being in the city that makes me feel inspired. I can’t help but feel excited and determined to follow my dreams. That must sound really cliche, but what can I say, I love to dream!

Hopefully you enjoyed this ramble about our trip to NYC, and if not, enjoy these pics!

– Friday –

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The Brooklyn Bridge

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Dumbo, Brooklyn

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Jane’s Carousel

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Juliana’s Pizza

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

View from the Millenium Hilton

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

– Saturday –

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The 9/11 Memorial Museum

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Times Square

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Broadhurst Theater

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Christy Altomare (AKA Anastasia)!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Smashbox Be Legendary Liquid Lip in Mauve Wife

– Sunday –

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Magnolia Bakery

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Central Park

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The Metropolitan Museum of Art

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Irving Penn Exhibit

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

View from The Met’s rooftop

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

IMG_7834

Until next time NYC!


Love, Liv

4 thoughts on “A Weekend Trip to NYC!

Leave a Reply

