Bald Head Island ’16

Bald Head Island is a very special place to my family and I. We are lucky enough to have great friends who have let us stay in their beach villa multiple times. This is our third year vacationing at Bald Head and since we couldn’t come last year, we were able to stay an entire week. We even brought some of our extended family along. I love how relaxing and laid back vacationing is on the island. Yes, there are things we want to see and do, but it’s definitely not a “see everything in only a couple days trip”, like many of our other trips. Here’s an overview of our vacation. My apologies in advance for the length of this post and for the many, many photos.

Wednesday, our travel day, was one of the more uneventful days. We woke up bright and early and drove over 6 hours to Southport, NC. From there we took the ferry to the island. Catherine (my cousin), Emily (my sister), and I love taking photos, so the moment we arrived at the villa, we took a few with our matching sunglasses. Later that day we went to the pool and ordered pizza.
1
3
Thursday was our full beach day. After breakfast we grabbed our beach supplies, loaded up with sunscreen, and drove the golf carts to the beach. There were a couple mini islands during low tide and we had fun swimming to each one. It was crazy how far out we could walk, while still feeling our feet on the sand. Honestly though, who knew how tiring it is to walk/run through water? After a long day at the beach, we came back and all the girls washed their sandy hair and prettied up for our evening adventure, a “howl at the moon” party. “Howl at the moon” occurs only when there is a full moon. Everyone who wants to come brings an appetizer to beach access 39 and we all watch the moon rise. Pretty great, am I right? There was soup from one of the local restaurants and an Irish bagpipe player. We had lot’s of fun and of course, took loads of photos.
4
5
9
Emily & Catherine are just 2 cute 🙂
ksjdbv.jpg
8
Friday morning, despite being up late, we went to see sunrise on the beach. On our way back one of our carts broke down and we ended up pushing it home. Good thing we had so many people. Later that day we got luna pops (handmade popsicles on the island) and went shopping for a little while. Then during the evening we went to the pool.
10
1.jpg
12
13
Saturday morning a few of us decided to go paddle boarding and it was quite the challenge. We paddle boarded on a marsh connected to the ocean and the tide happened to be very strong that day. Since I was worried (typical me), I decided to get on my paddle board second to last and therefore fell far behind everyone else. I’ll admit, I was pretty slow. Once we finally reached calmer waters, I caught up to everyone else and we made our way back. Saturday evening we experienced one of the coolest things we’ve ever seen. The island has a turtle conservancy where you can see both turtle hatchings and excavations. There happened to be a turtle excavation that evening. Three days after the baby turtles hatch from their eggs, the conservancy workers and interns dig up the eggs. One, so they can record how many turtles hatched and two, so they can make sure there aren’t any turtles left behind. Over 50% of the time there are turtles still buried in the sand. When we went to the excavation, the workers found one baby turtle. We were able to watch the baby turtle make its way from its nest area to the ocean, where it is essentially “set free”.
IMG_4535.JPG
We took this one with a selfie stick!
14
15
Sunday was a little sad since the Kish’s (my Aunt’s family) had to leave. After coffee and some final photos we bid them farewell and watched the ferry sail back to mainland. Afterwards, I convinced my mom to take me to the art gallery and we received some information on classes they were offering. Then my mom and I went to the beach for an hour or so. The past couple days were pretty nonstop, so my family and I decided to take some time to relax.
16
Sunday.jpg
17
Monday morning we went to the beach to see sunrise again. There were tons of beautiful shells and we added many to our collection. We also saw another completely unscheduled sea turtle excavation. That’s right! We were walking down the beach and ran into the marine biologist at the conservancy. She had just found a baby sea turtle in one of the nests and was helping it get to the water. I’ll never forget how teeny baby sea turtles are. Adorable! Afterwards, we ate breakfast at the market and took our dog Mia on a cart ride and walk in the park. Then while my mom and sister went to the pool, my dad and I took an art class, filling my creative well. I painted a turtle and my dad painted two alligators. I love art but I don’t draw very often and neither does my dad. Thankfully we had an amazing teacher who helped us out. Monday evening we went to dinner at Mojo’s and had incredible lava cake. Finally, we all watched a movie together. I guess you could say my parents and sister watched the movie, while I blogged… 😉
Monday
sdfbwrtb.jpg
Monday1
dsc_0739
 Ignore the bad quality… we had a waitress take this for us.
Monday2
Tuesday was our last full day on the island. We all slept in since we had been up so late the night before. My mom and I did some final island shopping, and even managed to pick up a few Christmas gifts for my friends and family (I won’t say who). After we were all shopped out, we hit the beach one last time. After leaving the beach, we bought MORE Italian Ice. I can’t even count how many times we bought Italian Ice at Mikes Bites. It’s just soooo amazing. Definitely the best I’ve ever had! Before heading home for dinner, my mom and I stopped by a brand new Southern Living inspired community. One of my favorite activities while on the island is hitting open houses, not necessarily because I want to live in them, but rather I just love interior design/architecture. Growing up I was an HGTV fanatic! After a yummy homemade dinner, we went to the beach for our last sunset on the island. Tuesday was quite bittersweet, as we were all dreading returning to reality. Our last beach trip, last Italian Ice, last sunset, and the list goes on. Despite all our feelings of sadness, my family and I had a great night. We drove to the harbor and watched the sunset with our ice cream in hand. My dad even decided to bring Mia (our puppy).
Tuesday
Tuesday1
Tuesday2
Tuesday3
Well you probably know what happens from here. Wednesday, after cleaning up the house, we took the 12:30 ferry back to Southport and headed home. My family had, once again, an amazing time at Bald Head Island. We were so glad we could bring the Kish family along with us. I have a feeling this won’t be our last time on the island. Until next time!
DSC_0611.jpg

Love, Liv

 

6 thoughts on “Bald Head Island ’16

Leave a Reply

